Former GREAT WHITE Singer TERRY ILOUS Launches LAND OF GYPSIES - news and articles about music - SoundPark Music Community.


Frontiers Music Srl will release the self-titled debut album from LAND OF GYPSIES on December 10. The official music video for the disc’s first single, «Shattered», can be seen below.

LAND OF GYPSIES, formerly known as GANG OF SOULS, is a new Los Angeles-based band featuring an artistic union between vocalist Terry Ilous (XYZ, ex-GREAT WHITE) and producer and bassist Fabrizio Grossi (Glenn HughesSUPERSONIC BLUES MACHINEEric Gales). Rounding out the lineup are Serge Simic (THE SLAMSUPERSONIC BLUES MACHINE) on guitar and Tony Morra on drums. The band spent a wealth of time during the pandemic in 2020 working on and developing its sound. Their target was to write music leaning towards a classic hard rock sound with unforgettable melodies and a solid bluesy background to compliment Ilous‘s stellar vocals.

Ilous says: «My entire career has been about creating the best music I possibly can for the fans. LAND OF GYPSIES allows me to focus on the music and to grow as an artist, while also being able to expand my work both nationally and internationally. I am extremely honored to join such an amazing roster of talent. Expect to hear a lot more from me and Frontiers moving forward.»

Grossi adds: «I am really excited to work with my buddies SergeTony and Terry on this new adventure called LAND OF GYPSIESTerry is the centerpiece and I am sure hell turn even more heads than what he’s been admirably doing since XYZ‘s debut and when he was with GREAT WHITE. He’s an amazing singer and a hell of a funny guy. I am glad the public will be able to get to know this other side of him. This record represents the type of straight-ahead rock music that really makes us move. There won’t be any frills and sweetness, that I can promise, but lots of balls-out groove, loud guitars and soulful melodies.»

Musically, LAND OF GYPSIES music leans toward a classic hard rock sound with unforgettable melodies and a solid bluesy background. Think BAD COMPANY meets early FOREIGNER, but with more current production.

Track listing:

01. Believe
02. Shattered
03. Trouble
04. Give Me Love
05. Somewhere Down The Line
06. Rescue Me
07. Ordinary Man
08. Run Away
09. Long Summer Day
10. Rambling Man
11. Get It Right

Recording lineup:

Terry Ilous — Lead & backing vocals
Serge Simic — Lead and Rhythm Guitars
Fabrizio «Fab» Grossi – Bass
AJ Morra — Drums & Percussions
Eric Ragno — Hammond, Wurly & Rhodes
Jeff Northrup — Additional guitars on «Somewhere Down The Line»

Ilous joined GREAT WHITE in 2010 after replacing touring vocalist Jani Lane (WARRANT).

The Ilous-led GREAT WHITE released two albums, 2012’s «Elation» and 2017’s «Full Circle», before Terry was shown the door in July 2018 and replaced with Mitch Malloy.